Anxiety? I Want to Help.

I have been reading many blogs recently about people dealing with anxiety and I want to help. It seems to me that the ones suffering from anxiety, depression, or some other kind of “disorder” are actually the sane ones. It is modern society that has the disorder, and in my opinion, the ones going about like everything is a-ok, you know, just don’t worry and be happy, are the most delusional of the group. The most sensitive of us all are the ones suffering the most when really this heightened sensitivity ought to be cherished. This hyper-sensitivity can cause so much harm when out of control. However, when mastered, it becomes one’s greatest gift. Tangled up within the anxiety is the cure, and when I discover my own cure, I have discovered a powerful medicine that is desperately needed by a sick and twisted world. What I am saying to those suffering is I see you. I see your special and unique “flaws” and “disorders” as teachers, as gifts waiting to be revealed. Thank you for telling the rest of us that life here on Earth is not all rainbows and butterflies, that there are caterpillars and cloudy days, too, and these things are equally useful and beautiful. I encourage you to work through your pain to find your truth, your medicine, your own self-love. It is this truth earned through facing the self that will set you free. I speak from experience, having transformed my own self-destructive behavior and lack of self-control into a potent tool for healing.

I want to help. The best way I know how is to listen to you and to encourage you to face yourself and find your medicine. If there’s anything else I can do please let me know. I would hug you if you were here.

With balance. – Aaron

photo credit

9 thoughts on “Anxiety? I Want to Help.

  1. ..which is why it’s important that we have knowledge of or have walked in their shoes before we extend an offer/invitation to help. Unless we’ve traveled their path, we possess little basis to ‘fixing’ their issues or lives. Rather than acting (which we are inclined to want to do), sometimes the best thing to do is simply listen, sans rendering advice.

    • Why do I want to help? Great question, Julien. I don’t know if I can answer it all here so maybe I will write a post about it soon. Here’s a short version – I want to help people dealing with anxiety because they are asking for help. I had a sister who suffered from anxiety and ended up killing herself. Honestly, I was scared of her. I didn’t know what to say or how to help back then. Now I am no longer afraid. I have a tool that actually works for people (including me) to keep their (and my) anxiety in check. Seeing people heal themselves fulfills me at the core of my being. Anything I can do (or not do) to promote self-empowerment and self-healing is my mission. And also, I want to help because I’ve faced my own psychosis and finding balance has been the most fulfilling and liberating experience of my life and I want to share. And finally, in my few brushes with death, in my moments of total despair, there is a voice that pops in my head and tells me that I need to be working with and helping people who need it. Thanks for asking, does that answer your question? Are you able to decipher my real urge from what I said here? -Aaron

      • Just found this:

        “The healing of our present woundedness may lie in recognizing and reclaiming the capacity we have to heal each other, the enormous power in the simplest of human relationships.
        (…)
        Becoming expert has turned out to be less important than remembering and trusting the wholeness in myself and everyone else. Expertise cures, but wounded people can best be healed by other wounded people. Only other wounded people can understand what is needed, for the healing of suffering is compassion, not expertise.”
        — Rachel Naomi Remen, M.D.

        For sure, as long as you are asked to, there is no doubt that helping others comes naturally and spontaneously.

        Undoubtedly, every time we help another, we do heal along too in that process.

        Every single time someone commits suicide, the whole world dies along with that person…- and thus we become even more impoverished by not having the guts to see, listen and offer some relief…I am moved by what you said about your sister. Obviously not only you were scared, but also others around her…in these critical cases, most people are overwhelmed by their own fear to confront themselves, not knowing therefore what to say or how to act…Ask me, I know…I have been there: when you most need someone, they all flee, leaving you in the lurch.

        Even the so-called “professionals” fall short on helping, as unfortunately most of them repudiate and fear their own darkness…It´s a sad fact: we live in a culture which denies and repress the Shadow…

Leave a Reply

