Speaking Up: Breakdown of This Week’s Language Yoga Challenge.

Today I’m going to walk through this week’s Language Yoga Challenge by translating into I Language the quote of author and Holocaust survivor Elie Wiesel. The point of doing these translations is to own my psychological projections by putting myself in the shoes of other people. When I understand that all these different characters are a part of me, I learn to view my world with more balance, love and compassion.

The quote I am working with states, “Let us remember: what hurts the victim the most is not the cruelty of the oppressor, but the silence of the bystander.” – Elie Wiesel

There are three characters being talked about here, the victim, the aggressor, and the bystander. My task is to examine how all three of the characteristics exist within me so that I am less likely to project my problems out onto other people. Let me take a look at what happens when I translate the whole sentence all at once. The translation reveals that, “Let me remember: what hurts me the most is not my cruelty towards myself, but my silence about my cruelty.”

First I will examine the roles of the victim and the aggressor. People hurt each other all the time. When I hurt other people it is usually because I am suppressing something within myself that then manifests externally in violent ways. In other words, my violence is a symptom of the inner division lurking within me. This internal division shows up in my physical and mental projections, so by owning what I am externalizing using the translation tool, I can do the work of unifying myself and making myself whole so that my cruelty dissolves into compassion. When I am hurting someone else, what I am projecting is that I am myself hurting. By understanding that when I feel hurt and act out, my acting out hurts me even more, then I can start to make changes in my reactions so that I take care of myself rather than lashing out at other people. This act of self-care is crucial for me to heal. Part of me believes that this self-care is selfish, but then I remember that what is truly selfish is to project my inner pain out onto other people.

The second part of this translation reveals, “What hurts me most is my silence towards my cruelty.” What I am saying here is that I understand I am being cruel but I don’t check myself. I don’t speak up about my own cruelty. I don’t admit that I am being cruel to myself. Well, that is exactly what Language Yoga works on bringing to the surface. My subconscious mind is constantly speaking to me but I don’t know how to listen. Doing my translations is how I can decipher what my subconscious is trying to tell me. Revealing my projections is the act of speaking up to myself about my internal division. This is the work I must do in order to stop hurting myself.

To repeat the translation, “Let me remember: what hurts me the most is not my cruelty towards myself, but my silence about my cruelty.” It is time for me to speak up and become the hero of my own destiny. I’m Calling Myself Out! is the social movement being galvanized around doing my translations and owning my projections. I’m calling out my cruelty and inner division, I’m calling out my victim consciousness, I’m calling out my psychotic and violent projections. I’m Calling Myself Out! and owning myself with every word I translate. I am the victim, the aggressor, the bystander, and the hero. Now that I see my world through these different lenses, I have more compassion towards myself and others, and can work on my mission of healing my inner division. Thank you.

-Aaron

2 thoughts on “Speaking Up: Breakdown of This Week’s Language Yoga Challenge.

  1. Pingback: Language Yoga Challenge Week #3 | Language Yoga

Leave a Reply

