Language Yoga Challenge Week #3

Welcome to the Language Yoga Challenge! As a quick refresher, Language Yoga is a linguistic tool and spiritual practice which works to help one experience unity through language. To play, translate this week’s quote into I Language by substituting externalizing nouns and pronouns (we, you, us, they, our, it, them, names of other people…) with personal pronouns which promote ownership (me, myself, I…).

Example: “You must be the change that you wish to see in the world.” ~Gandhi

Translates to: “I must be the change that I wish to see in myself.”

The purpose of this challenge is to reveal the subconscious mind so it can be integrated into the conscious ego in order to promote balance and healing. Learn more about this translation tool at our website, languageyoga.org, or check out last week’s solution here. Each week we are going to be laying down a new quote for your translating pleasure!

Complete the challenge by translating the quote into I Language and thinking about the questions that go along with the quote. Please share your experience in the comment section below. Good luck!

Without further ado, here is this week’s quote and questions:

Let us remember: what hurts the victim the most is not the cruelty of the oppressor, but the silence of the bystander.” – Elie Wiesel

Questions:

How does your I Language translation read?

What thoughts and feelings does doing this translation bring up?

Can you own these different aspects of yourself?

Is there anything else that this translation reveals to you?

Feel free to leave a comment below, I would love to hear your experience!

Stumped? See Aaron’s Answer to this week’s challenge here.

-Aaron

3 thoughts on “Language Yoga Challenge Week #3

  1. HaHa! This is tricky one. But it got me thinking and here’s my “whack” at it.
    “Let me remember: what hurts me the most (when I take the stance of the victim) is not the cruelty of Myself the Oppressor but rather the silence of Myself the Bystander.”

    How many times have I silenced Myself the Heroine — the one inside of me who was there standing up for me — to receive the blows of that other part of the One who happened to mirror Myself the Judge, Myself the Critic, Myself the Abuser? How many times have I let Myself the Victim be the outcome of these opportunities to bring the darkness within me to the light?

    • Wow, thank you Alia for your perspective. I hadn’t thought about the heroine(hero) aspect of my self as the bystander that speaks up. Very insightful! Thank you for filling in that missing piece for me. Much love! – Aaron

  2. Pingback: Speaking Up: Breakdown of This Week’s Language Yoga Challenge. | Language Yoga

Leave a Reply

