Language Yoga Challenge #4

polarizing_filterWelcome to the Language Yoga Challenge! The idea behind this game is to increase mindfulness and balance by playing with various language transforming techniques. This week’s challenge involves using the “depolarization filter” to reveal the hidden side of duality. To use the “depolarization filter,” find dualistic language and translate one side of a pair of opposites into the other side. Then imagine the thought or phrase from this opposite side of the spectrum.

Balance is an essential element in all types of yoga. “In yoga practice, dualistic properties such as right and left, inner and outer, dark and light, are yoked together in a fine point of balance. While the ultimate “macro-union” is between form and the formless divine, the practice [of yoga] continuously aims for ever-more-refined levels of balance through the micro-union of polarities.” – Ashtanga yoga teacher Annie Pace.

This week’s exercise expands one’s consciousness by revealing how the one side of a pair of opposites is as equally true as the other. When I can unify these dualistic polarities into a point of balance in my mind, I am essentially merging my conscious ego with my subconscious shadow. This merging gives me a greater understanding of myself so that I will be less likely to project imbalance out onto the world.

For example, take the quote: “Do the right thing.” The one-sided pair that I see is the word “right.” Translating this sentence reveals: “Do the wrong thing.”

Now imagine this scenario…doing the wrong thing

This is the shadow work. What comes up when you think of “wrong” things? It probably feels uncomfortable, right? Its okay to let it out. By facing these aspects of self one can then own them so that one doesn’t suppress them and project them later on.

Without further ado, here is this week’s quote and questions:

Walking with a friend in the dark is better than walking alone in the light.” ~ Helen Keller

Questions:

1) What one-sided pairs of opposites can you find in this quote?

2) What does translating using the “depolarizing filter” reveal?

3) Can you see the truth in both sides? Please explain…

Please describe your experience in the comment section below. Thank you and much balance. -Aaron

3 thoughts on “Language Yoga Challenge #4

  1. I actually had a hard time doing this challenge. I would write some things out, then delete it. I think it is because I can’t connect with the quote from an emotional feeling standpoint. And I am not sure why that is.. ? However, it did inspire me to create a new article using the Depolarization Filter!

    Check it out here – It’s called “Money is the Root of All Good”
    http://5thdensityearth.wordpress.com/2015/01/28/money-is-the-root-of-all-good/

  2. “Walking with a friend in the dark is better than walking alone in the light.” Pairs of opposites to exchange include light/dark, alone/with a friend, friend/enemy. The one that stands out for me is “better.” Is one side really better than the other? I would say, walking with a friend in the dark can be both good and bad depending on the situation. Walking alone in the light can be both good and bad. From this perspective, the 2 sides become equally good and bad, better and worse. – Aaron

Leave a comment